New playing conditions [July 31]

  • Teams now have to finish their quota of 20 overs in 85 minutes, failing which they will be penalized. If a side falls short by one over, 0.05 would be subtracted from their net run rate, with an additional penalty of .10 in NRR for every additional over.
  • The other change in playing conditions is related to coin toss for Super Over. In the past, the side that batted second in a tied game was given the chance to take first strike in the Super Over.
Warriors sign Chris Green pro tempore [July 31]

Guyana Amazon Warriors have signed Australian all-rounder Chris Green for the first four matches of the 2018 Hero Caribbean Premier League. Green has been brought in to cover for Cameron Delport, who will be unavailable until August 17. It means that Green will be available for the matches against St Kitts & Nevis Patriots, St Lucia Stars, Barbados Tridents and Jamaica Tallawahs.

Barbados Tridents replace Junaid with Irfan [July 30]

Barbados Tridents have replaced Junaid Khan with Mohammad Irfan ahead of CPL 2018, set to commence from August 8. Junaid is “unavailable” for the tournament.

Irfan made his international debut in 2010 and has picked 94 wickets in the T20 format at an average of 20.94. His best figures of 4 for 16 came against Peshawar in the National T20 Cup in 2015.

“He is no stranger to international cricket and this know-how, coupled with his unique ability with the ball, means he will be a key part of the Tridents attack and a handful for opposing batsmen,” said Tridents head coach Robin Singh.

Watch CPL 02018 Live on Sony Six

Steven Smith to play for Barbados Tridents [July 25]

Australia batsman Steven Smith will represent Barbados Tridents in the upcoming Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2018 as he returns to the tournament for the first time in five years. He last featured in the league in 2013 playing for Antigua Hawksbills.

Smith, who has scored 3124 runs in T20 cricket, including a hundred and 11 fifties, will replace Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan who is no longer available for the tournament.

Meanwhile, St Lucia Stars confirmed earlier that David Warner, who is also facing a 12-month ban, will make his CPL debut this season. Warner was named as a replacement to D’Arcy Short, who will not be able to part take in the T20 tournament as he is part of the Australia A squad that tours India for a quadrangular series.

Shoaib Malik to captain Guyana Amazon Warriors [July 20]

Shoaib Malik has been named as the captain of Guyana Amazon Warriors ahead of the Caribbean Premier League 2018, scheduled to start next month.

The 36-year-old has led his country in 36 T20Is, with Pakistan winning 24 of them. Malik also captained Multan Sultans during the 2017-18 PSL, with the franchise winning four and losing five games during the course of the season.

Malik made his CPL debut for Barbados Tridents against St Lucia Zouks in July 2013. He went on to compile 1271 runs for the Tridents franchise before Amazon Warriors picked up the Pakistan all rounder in May this year. The seasoned campaigner has accumulated 7974 runs and taken 133 scalps in the T20 format.

Facebook Comment Box